Monday, December 7

6.00 PM – 10.00 PM

Responsibility to act :Engaging in innovative partnerships to implement the sustainable development goals (SDG) framework.


Marie-Josée Jacobs
President Caritas Luxembourg
Armand Drews
President Cercle des ONGD


Dr. Imme Scholz 
Deputy Director German Development Institute (DIE)
Samuel Zan Akologo
Executive Secretary Department of Human Development Caritas Ghana


Martine Schommer
Director General for Development Cooperation at the Luxembourg Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Anders Henriksson                                                  Principal Adviser for Policy Definition - DG DEVCO
Danny Sriskandarajah
Secretary General and CEO CIVICUS
Tanya Cox
Co-Chair of the European Steering group of Beyond 2015
Christian Scharff- President IMS- inspiring more sustainability


Danièle  Weber (Journalist)



Wednesday, December 9


Workshop organised by the Civil Society Alliance as part of the European Year for Development 2015 (EYD2015)

The session will be moderated by Ian HALL, UK Director,

Registration (08.30 – 09.00)

Opening remarks (09.00 – 09.15)

Inese VAIVARE, Director, Latvian Platform for Development Cooperation (LAPAS)

Christine DAHM, Director, Cercle de coopération des ONG de Développement de Luxembourg

Introduction (09.15 – 09.25)      

Pierrette PAPE, Chair of the Selection Committee of EYD2015 sub-granting mechanism, Policy and Campaigns Director, the European Woman Lobby (tbc)

Video projection #myEYD2015 (09.25 – 09.30)

Presentation and discussion on EYD2015, its policy recommendations, the future role of the civil society and its partnerships (09.30 – 09.50)    

Marius WANDERS, Ambassador of EYD2015 Civil Society Alliance and CONCORD Europe Board member

Keynote speeches (09.50 – 10.30)

Arne LIETZ, Member of the European Parliament (tbc)

Stina SOEWARTA, Head of Unit, Communication and transparency, EuropeAid

Representative of other EU institutions, Luxembourg presidency (tbc)

Interactive debate (10.30 – 11.45) 

Ana Rosa ALCALDE, action/2015, Director, Alianza por la Solidaridad

Alexandrina NAJMOWICZ, Director, European Civic Forum

Rilli LAPPALAINEN, Secretary General, Kehys -the Finnish NGDO Platform; Co-Chair, CONCORD Development Awareness Raising and Education Forum (DARE)

Thomas RAVN-PEDERSEN, Head of MDG Campaign, World's Best News at Danish NGO Forum

Maite SERRANO OÑATE, Director, Coordinadora de ONGD para el desarrollo (tbc)

Johnny SHEEHAN, Project Coordinator for European Year for Development, Dochas — the Irish Association of Non-Governmental Development Organisations

Danny SRISKANDARAJAH, Secretary General, CIVICUS – World Alliance for Citizen Participation (tbc)


Chiara PATRICOLO, Human Rights and Solidarity Coordinator, European Student Unions    

CONCLUSIVE REMARKS (11.45 – 12.00)

Ian HALL, UK Director,






Tuesday, December 8

09.30 AM – 6.00 PM
Maison du Savoir - Esch/Belval

The second day will serve as capacity building and empowerment process and aim to foster a better cooperation and partnership between different stakeholders.

Our lead question for each individual workshop will be: how can we build strong and innovative partnerships to implement the sustainable development goals?

Three of the workshops will analyse the framework of partnerships themselves. They will discuss accountability, policy coherence and resilience of multistakeholer partnerships

The other three will provide case studies of multistakeholder partnerships in the fields of business and human rights, global citizenship education and climate justice. 

Registration (09:30)    

Welcome Adress (10:00-10:15)

Introduction to the workshops (10:15-10:45)

3 parallel morning sessions (10:45-12:15)

Accountability and monitoring

Graham Long Senior Lecturer - School of Geography, Politics and Sociology - Newcastle University

Deidre de Burca Member of European Steering Group Beyond 2015 and Director of Advocacy for World Vision EU office

Policy coherence for sustainable development

Anna Knoll Policy Officer - European Centre for Development Policy Management - ECDPM

Samuel Zan Akologo Executive Secretary Department of Human Development - Caritas Ghana

Francis Schartz - President Conseil supérieur pour un Développement Durable

Climate Justice

Dr Imme Scholz Deputy Director German Development Institute (DIE)

Patrick Godar Managing Director Fondation Bridderlech Deelen and member of CIDSE Director's Board

Noelani Dubeta Climate Policy Assistant - Climate Action Network Europe

Introduction to the workshops (13:30-14:00)

3 PARALLEL afternoon SESSIONS (14:00-15:30)

Global Citizenship education

Rilli Lappalainen Secretary General Kehys (Finnish NGDO platform to the EU) and co-chair European Development Education Multi-Stakeholder Group

Nicole Etikwa Ikuku  Coordinator at Action Solidarité Tiers Monde - ASTM

Business and Human Rights

Jerôme Chaplier Coordinator European Coalition for Corporate Justice

Jade Buddenberg Trainer - Collective Leadership Institute

Resilience and Partnerships

Norry Schneider Coordinator Luxembourg Transition Platform

Caroline Schmit Conseillère Pacte Climat Syndicat Intercommunal De Réidener Kanton

Gaëlle Tavernier Project Manager Pacte Climat - IMS

Camille Gaudin Project Manager Part&Act – IMS

Concluding remarks and question time (16:00-16:30)

Harlan Koff
Professor of Social Sciences University of Luxembourg

Marc Elvinger
Lawyer, President of Friendship Luxembourg asbl

Networking Event-Snacks and Drinks (16:30-17:30)